How do you introduce your kids to God?

This may seem like an odd question but lately I’ve been giving it a lot of thought.  Liliana is almost two, and I’ve scarcely used the G word since she was born.  I personally believe in G*d as the day is long, I know he/she is there, and gee golly goulash I am grateful!!! I tend to connect more when I am happy than when I am sad, strangely I find more to pray about when I just can’t believe my luck, rather than when I’m down in the dumps. Although… I’ve been there too. That awful papercut and you scream out, why me?! Tanya Harting style…

So back to Lily.. I went to Barnes & Noble yesterday and found two books to get myself started.  I’m completely obsessed with the first one. It has cute little sayings to bless your morning, your lunch, your sleep time, your growth, your house, your family. All things that kids SHOULD be grateful for but may take for granted.  I personally did not have a lot of religion in my life growing up, but I always had faith. Not faith in a specific set of rules, but faith that there was something greater than I.  What I’d like to give to Liliana is an even more special gift, which is some guidance to show her the right way and make her appreciate how lucky she is.  How do you introduce faith to your children?  It’s personal for each family, and there is no right and wrong. But I’m fascinated… and will continue to post as I find new ideas of how to do this in a interfaith family where no one is really “super religious” or in other words, doing much of anything.
Here are the books:

Baby’s First Book Of Prayers   and Noah’s Ark

babysbook       and  noahsark

Leave a comment